March 7, 2022

Dear USC Community,

Every year, we are pleased to honor members of our exceptional faculty with University and Distinguished professorships. These are USC’s highest academic honors, which we present to our colleagues who have brought great distinction to our university through the unparalleled excellence of their accomplishments.

It is my pleasure to announce that this year we have appointed Lee Epstein, Shaun Harper, and Azad Madni as University Professors and Caryn Lerman and Steven Ross as Distinguished Professors.

President Folt and I are grateful for these faculty, whose contributions reflect USC’s mission to better humanity through the cultivation and enrichment of the human mind and spirit. Please join us in congratulating our colleagues on their new appointments. We look forward to celebrating their achievements at the annual Academic Honors Convocation in April.

We will seek nominations from the USC community for next year’s recognitions at the start of the Fall semester. For an updated list of all USC University and Distinguished Professors, please visit:


Charles F. Zukoski
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

University Professors

Lee Epstein is returning to USC